arrowbookcheckclosecommentfacebookfavourite-origfavouritegooglehomeibapdfsearchsharespotlighttwitterwelsh-government
  • Use stars to collect & save items A vector image of star to represent action to save this item   Login to save this item

Description

The 'Borough Guide' published by the town council and Edward J Burrows Co around 1905 notes that the eminence of Constitution Hill is as the northern end of the promenade and the summit is 500 feet above sea level. The hill is a popular resort for those 'who are found of plenty of outdoor recreation'. The summit can be reached by foot or by the cliff railway opened in 1896. The Aberystwyth Cliff Railway, along with the pleasure grounds on Constitution Hill, were created in 1895-6 by the Aberystwyth Improvement Company. The funicular railway climbs 130 metres on a 1 in 2 gradient, steeper in the upper part, from the ornate red brick lower station. The two carriages, each designed to hold thirty people, were originally powered by a water balance system. On the summit were 'summer houses, shelters, refreshment rooms, bandstand, gardens containing thousands of plants and flowers, winding walks, terrace walks and a charming greensward'. A camera obscura and switchback railway had been added by 1905.

Comments (0)

You must be logged in to leave a comment