• Llanelli National Eisteddfod 1962

  • View map
Map 1st Edition (1868-1892) 2nd Edition (1899-1908) 3rd Edition (1920-1932) 4th Edition (1938-1954) Tithe Map
  • Use stars to collect & save items A vector image of star to represent action to save this item   Login to save this item
  • Download (non-commercial use only)

Content can be downloaded for non-commercial purposes, such as for personal use or in educational resources.
For commercial purposes please contact the copyright holder directly.
Read more about the The Creative Archive Licence.

This content isn't available for download, please contact us.


Llanelli National Eisteddfod 1962.
Image 1: The sword in the sheath, Trefin, the Archdruid presenting, and the crowned bard, the Rev. D. Emlyn Lewis, receiving the warm tribute by the crowd.
Image 2: Archdruid Trefin, congratulating the crowned bard, the Rev. D. Emlyn Lewis.
Image 3: The crowned bard.
Image 4: The crowned bard being led from the Pavilion by Trefin, the Archdruid.
Image 5: The crowned bard, and Dilwyn Miles, Keeper of the Sword.
Image 6: London Welsh tent on the Eisteddfod Maes.
Image 7: Winners in the writing competition Welsh first language and second language are: Elizabeth Davies, Llanelli; Ann Grey, Llanelli; Colin Evans, Cynnwyl Elfed; Terry Pike, Llanelli; and Yvonne Davies, Caernarfon.
Image 8: "Bois y Blacbord" are a popular party, each member a teacher in Carmarthenshire. This party had the honour of singing the 'cywydd' to open the Eisteddfod on Monay with Alun y Marian as harpist.
Image 9: Ammanford Choir, conducted by Mr Hywel Evans, who won the "Cymro" cup and �200 in the main choral competition.
Image 10: Two preparing the stage for the anterlute on the Eisteddfod field at Llanelli are Emyr Jones and John Hefin Evans, Llandysul.
Image 11: John Hefin Evans, Eleri Hopcyn, Dennis Roberts, Emyr Llew Jones, Llinos Jones, Non Watcyn Jones, Geraint Morris, An Britton and Leonard Richards. The anterlute was produced by Miss Norah Isaac.
Image 12: Two members of the Twm o'r Nant Anterlute cast.
Image 13: Performing the Twm o'r Nant Anterlute.
Image 14: Glyndwr Evans, Marchlyn, Pennal, competing to win the cerdd dant solo for those between 18 and 25 years old, with Gwenllian Dwyryd, harpist.
Image 15: Three choirs competed in the main choral competition for the "Y Cymro" cup and the total of �350 yn in prizes awarded by the Edwin Stephen Griffiths Trust. Holding the cup is Mr Hywel Evans, conductor of Ammanford Choral Society, the victorious choir, with Mr Harding Jenkins, Llwynhendy conductor, who came second, and Mr Haydn Thomas, conductor of Sciwen Choir, third.
Image 16: Gildas Martin, Clydach, and Eric Davies, Ferryside, were awarded joint first place in the competition for boys solo between 12 and 16 ears old. Mr John Hughes, the judge, felt that the competition had been an interesing one, if a little disappointing.
Images 17 - 18: A happy co-incidence at the Llanelli Eisteddfod is that three who are leading the Eisteddfod, that is the Rev. Meic Marri and Messers I. B. Griffith and W. R. Evans ar all former students at Bangor College.
Image 19: The Gold Medal for Fine Arts at the Eisteddfod was presented in honour of Joseph Herman, by J Ingli Williams, chair of the Arts and Crafts Committee at Llanelli.
Image 20: The Opening Ceremony. Dr H. D. Llewellyn, chair of the Executive Committee, Sir Keith Joseph, the minister for Welsh affairs, Baroness Joseph and Mayor of Llanelli, Alderman William Davies.
Image 21: Sir T. H. Parry-Williams, President of the Eisteddfod Council presenting a model of the Pavilion to Dr H. D. Llewellyn, chair of the Eisteddfod Executive Committee.
Image 22: Sir Keith Joseph visiting the Arts and Crafts Exhibtion in the company of Dr H D Llewellyn, chair of the Llanelli Eisteddfod Executive Committeei.
Image 23: The Arts and Crafts Exhibition was opened on Monday by Mr Clifford Evans (Bronwydd), and sitting on his right is Mr Joseph Herman, winner of the Gold Medal.
Image 24: Clifford Evans (Bronwydd) opening the Arts and Crafts Exhibition and congratulating Mr Joseph Herman, winner of the Gold Medal.
Image 25: The reciting competition for those between 15 and 18 years old was won by Norman Williams, Rhosgadfan.
Image 26: In the examniations on the history of the Gorsedd y Beirdd, Menna Owen, Garndolbenmaen, won second prize, and she was presented to the Archdruid Trefin by Cynan, Deputy-Archdruid, on the Eiseddfod stage.
Image 27: Safe from the threatening weather - new Gorsedd members siting comfortably in cinema chairs waiting for the call to the Standing Stone (Maen Llog).
Image 28: Because of the foul weather, Gorsedd members went on a bus to the Regal Cinema, where the ceremony was held.
Images 29 - 30: New members of the Gorsedd waiting for the call to the Standing Stone.
Image 31: New Gorsedd members being presented by Cynan.
Image 32: New Gorsedd members being congratulated by Archdruid Trefin.
Image 33: The future Archdruid, Cynan, reading the Gorsedd prayer.
Image 34: Members of the Gorsedd leaving the stage.

Comments (0)

You must be logged in to leave a comment