• Description
  • Comments (0)
The Principality of Wales exactly described in a compleat sett of maps of all its county's wherein are express'd the chief roads and distances in each county with the names and limits of every hundred, being very usefull for gentlemen and travellers. This map by Thomas Taylor is significant in that it seems to have been the first published atlas relating entirely to Wales. It outlines the hundreds of the ten counties of Wales as determined by the Acts of Union in 1536: Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire, Glamorgan, Breconshire, Radnorshire, Cardiganshire, Montgomeryshire, Merionethshire, Denbighshire, Caernarvonshire, Anglesey. Thomas Taylor is known to have been a book, print and map seller in London, between 1670 and 1721. His various addresses are recorded as 'next door to the Beehive on London Bridge', 'at the Hand and Bible in the New Buildings on London Bridge' and 'at Ye Golden Lyon, over against Serjeants Inn in Fleet Street'.

You must be logged in to leave a comment