arrowbookcheckclosecommentfacebookfavourite-origfavouritegooglehomeibapdfsearchsharespotlighttwitterwelsh-government
  • Use stars to collect & save items A vector image of star to represent action to save this item   Login to save this item

Description

Click on image to enlarge and compare the two photographs.
The central body of water, seen in both photographs,is the No 1 Dock - seen from different angles. The large General Offices building can also be seen in both photographs.
At the time the first photograph was taken in 1929, millions of tonnes of coal and coke were passing through Barry Docks. Extensive railway sidings can be seen which served coal hoists at the quaysides where ships were loaded with coal & coke to be taken around the world.
In the second photograph, the docks are largely unused, although many elements remain, including the dry docks, the railway approaches and the stone plinths of the dockside coal hoists. The dockland area is currently being developed for shopping and housing.
To further investigate the appearance of Barry Docks through time, explore the historic mapping on this site.

Comments (0)

You must be logged in to leave a comment